Hotel Post: 120 years St. Anton am Arlberg – the pioneers of winter sports

The Hotel Post in St. Anton am Arlberg is a part of the history and development of the community. In September 1884, when the railway tunnel through Arlberg was opened, which was at that time the longest in the world, the dreamy mountain village experienced a sudden economic surge. In 1896 Mr. Carl Schuler decided to build the first hotel in the area, the Hotel Post – initially for all the summer guests who came to experience the Tyrolean mountain life.

Bilder vom Hotel Post vor einiger Zeit

His decision proved to be highly advantageous at the turn of the century, when alpine skiing became more fashionable. St. Anton am Arlberg rapidly developed into the first skiing metropolis. Many ski sport pioneers came from Arlberg and the Hotel Post was their homestead. No other place could reflect St. Anton’s sporting and social atmosphere quite like the Hotel Post. The guests included prominent figures from around the world, including royalty, famous business people and artists.

For this reason Walter Schuler, the owner’s son, had the Hotel Post converted into a substantial sports hotel in 1927. The world-famous architect Clemens Holzmeister was engaged for the planning. The Hotel Post’s striking silhouette has characterised St. Anton’s local image ever since.

Family Alber acquired the house in the 70’s and has always taken care to retain the traditional and integrate the new. Investment in modern developments raised the hospitality to a new level. The Relax centre with sauna and an indoor-pool was constructed. The facade was advantageously modified with an inviting terrace and a row of shops below. This all makes for the delightful image evident today: a traditional house with an old structure combined with up-to-the-minute interior in the areas of technology, comfort and possibilities of touristic experiences.

Hotel Post Aussenansicht

History overview:

  • 1884: Opening of the Arlberg railway tunnel
  • 1896: Carl Schuler decides to have the Hotel Post built
  • 1927: Alteration of the building into a modern sports hotel, designed by Clemens Holzmeister. The Hotel Post’s silhouette has shaped St. Anton’s image ever since.
  • 1970s: Family Alber acquires the house and brings it up-to-date

 

The traditional and the modern combine in harmony: the magic of the Hotel Post

Enquiries & reservations

Adults

Children

 

 

Gedeckter Weihnachtstisch im Hotel Post

Peaceful Christmas
20.12.2014 to 27.12.2014


7 nights half board,
6 day Arlberg ski pass,
traditional Christmas celebration,
exclusive Christmas Gala Dinner,
small presten for all children, magic show...

CHILDREN UNDER THE AGE OF 12 STAY FOR FREE IN THE ROOM OF THEIR PARENTS!

Photo gallery

Zur Fotogalerie

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now and receive ongoing exclusive offers and news about the Hotel Post and St. Anton am Arlberg!

Contact details

Hotel Post
Walter-Schuler-Weg 2
6580 St. Anton am Arlberg
Tirol - Austria
Tel. +43 5446 22130
info[at]hotel-post.co.at
www.hotel-post.co.at

Europäische Reiseversicherung

© Hotel Post St. Anton am Arlberg
Website credits

facebookAlberSt. Anton am ArlbergTirol

Hotel Post: 120 Jahre St. Anton am Arlberg – Pioniere des Wintersports

Das Hotel Post in St. Anton am Arlberg ist mit der Geschichte und der Entwicklung der Gemeinde eng verbunden. Als im September 1884 der damals längste Eisenbahntunnel der Welt durch den Arlberg eröffnet wurde, erlebte das verträumte Bergdorf einen raschen Aufschwung. 1896 entschloss sich daher Herr Carl Schuler zum Bau des ersten Hotels im Ort, dem Hotel Post – zunächst für die zahlreichen Sommergäste, die die herrliche Tiroler Bergwelt erleben wollten.

Bilder vom Hotel Post vor einiger Zeit

Wie richtig er mit seinem Entschluss gelegen war, zeigte sich um die Jahrhundertwende und dem Beginn des alpinen Skilaufs. In kürzester Zeit avancierte St. Anton am Arlberg zur ersten Metropole dieser jungen Sportart. Viele Pioniere des Skisports waren Arlberger und das Hotel Post ihre erste Heimstätte. Nirgendwo spiegelte sich die Atmosphäre St. Antons mit ihrer sportlichen und gesellschaftlichen Eigenart so wider wie im Hotel Post. Zu den Gästen zählten Prominente aus aller Welt, von gekrönten Häuptern bis zu Wirtschaftsmagnaten und Künstlern.  

Deshalb ließ Walter Schuler, Sohn des ersten Besitzers, das Hotel Post 1927 zu einem großen, modernen Sporthotel umbauen. Für die Planung konnte der weltberühmte Architekt Clemens Holzmeister gewonnen werden. Seither prägt die markante Silhouette des Hotel Post das Ortsbild von St. Anton.

Die Familie Alber erwarb das Haus in den 70er-Jahren und war von Anfang an bemüht, Bewährtes zu bewahren und Neues zu integrieren. Zeitgemäße Investitionen hoben die Gastlichkeit auf ein noch höheres Niveau. Das Relax Center mit Sauna und Hallenbad wurde errichtet. Die Front konnte vorteilhaft mit einer einladenden Terrasse samt darunter liegender Geschäftszeile verändert werden. So ergibt sich heute das charmante Bild eines traditionsreichen Hauses mit alter Bausubstanz, dessen Innenleben auf dem neuesten Stand in puncto Technik, Wohnkomfort und touristischem Erlebniswert ist.

Hotel Post Aussenansicht


Geschichte-Überblick

  • 1884: Eröffnung des Arlberg-Eisenbahntunnels
  • 1896: Carl Schuler beschließt den Bau des Hotel Post
  • 1927: Umbau nach Plänen von Clemens Holzmeister zu einem großen, modernen Sporthotel.    Seither prägt die markante Silhouette des Hotel Post das Ortsbild von St. Anton
  • 1970er: Die Familie Alber erwirbt das Haus und führt es in die neue Zeit

 

Tradition und Moderne in Harmonie: der besondere Zauber des Hotel Post

Anfragen & Buchen

Erwachsene

Kinder

 

 

Almabtrieb mit Bauernfest!


Herbstwochenende in der Post
vom 11. bis 14. September

- 3 Nächte Verwöhn-Halbpension
- Geführte Almwanderung
- Weinverkostung mit Dipl. Sommelier Heimo Niederhammer
- Kinder bis 13 Jahre wohnen kostenlos im Zimmer Ihrer Eltern

ab € 179,-- pro Person 
exkl. Ortstaxe € 1,10 pro Tag

Motorradtouren am Arlberg

Fotogalerie

Zur Fotogalerie

Newsletter

Melden Sie sich jetzt für unseren Newsletter an und erhalten Sie laufend exklusive Angebote und News rund um das Hotel Post und St.Anton am Arlberg!

Kontakt

Hotel Post
Walter-Schuler-Weg 2
6580 St. Anton am Arlberg
Tirol - Austria
Tel. +43 5446 22130
info[at]hotel-post.co.at
www.hotel-post.co.at

Europäische Reiseversicherung

© Hotel Post St. Anton am Arlberg
Impressum

facebookAlberSt. Anton am ArlbergTirol